• Financial Infrastructure Needed to Support Government Funding

Posted by Amy on June 22, 2023 at 3:16 pm

I’m a consultant working for several small NPO and am frequently asked if they have adequate financial resources to apply for government funding. Some of them did receive government funding during the COVID programs and were ill-prepared to meet the monitoring and compliance requirements.
    What additional cost for financial oversight should they be prepared for if they want to pursue government funding on an on-going basis?

MonicaSuber replied 10 months, 2 weeks ago 5 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Nancy

June 22, 2023 at 4:10 pm

An organization needs to have reliable financial systems. I use ADP for payroll and Quickbooks Online ($75/year from Quickbooks.) Quickbooks works up to about $2M-$3M in annual revenue.

There needs to be someone that really understands accounting (either staff or consultant). This means a lot more than writing checks. It means understanding accrual accounting.

It means a major commitment of time from ALL staff. Time sheets need to be prepared timely and accurately – no catching up at the end of the year. All expenses need documentation and allocation -timely, not when one feels like it.

In my nonprofits, I scan copies of all documents and attach that documentation to each transaction in in Quick. If a deposit is entered, attached is a copy of the check and the deposit ticket in Quickbooks. If a bill is paid, I include a copy of the invoice – if approved by email, a copy of the email is attached as well.

This makes audits so much easier. The documents are right with the transactions.

• mdiegert

June 23, 2023 at 9:56 am

Cost allocations are especially important for maximizing revenue from cost reimbursement grants. Developing and consistently executing allocations requires time and expertise which a small nonprofit might not have. Documentation of the assumptions used is critical.